//
you're reading...
Life Experience

Getting Car Driving License in Lahore, Pakistan

So I waited for 42 days so that I could go to Traffic police to get the Actual and permanent driving license.

Initially I was unaware of the process and I called Lahore city traffic police helpline and to my surprise the phone attendant helped me in very polite and gentle manner and explained me all the details and process.

However the process was not easy and it required visiting few more places before I could go the Test Center.

I needed following documents:

  1. Two photographs – Passport size
  2. Copy of the CNIC
  3. Driving license Form
  4. Medical Checkup
  5. Learner Driving license – It should not be an expired one
  6. Driving License Tickets – From GPO Lahore of 900 Rupees

I was so much worried about preparing the file which includes the driving license form and medical checkup stuff. I went to the Civil Lines near Government College Lahore. There were a lot of people sitting on the road and they were preparing files for driving license. I selected a guy and paid him 300 rupees to complete my file. One good thing he did was that he got the doctor’s signature on the file himself and I didn’t have to present myself in front of the doctor for medical checkups. That guy completed my file in 15 minutes and I was fully ready to visit City traffic police office at Thokar Niaz Baig.

I had heard a lot of strange things about visiting that place and I was afraid that I will be rejected or will be asked for some money.

My friends told me that I had to reach that place at 7:30 in the morning if I wanted to finish my test in 3 to 4 hours, otherwise you will have to stay there all day long.

So guys I got up early in the morning and reached City traffic police office at Thokar Niaz Baig at 7:30. There were few more people waiting for the office to open before me. At 8:00 am they allowed us to enter the building and they took my CNIC and Mobile phone at the entrance.

Finally I reached the window where we had to submit the file. I was fourth person in the queue. They opened the window at around 8:30 and started collecting the files. Please note that you will see a lot people there with Reference in the Police department. So do not be disappointed and discouraged as chances are there that you may get license even without reference in police dept but you will have to be patient and keep quite after seeing a lot of illegal things going on around you.

Please paste only 200 rupees worth of the tickets on the file at this stage as if you pass the test then you can paste the remaining tickets (Rs 700) which you purchased form GPO.

So once they collect the file they will ask you to go to waiting room. There you will find a large poster showing traffic signals. Please do not waste your time there and memorize all the traffic signals from that chart as the traffic police will ask you the same signs in the interview. After some time a traffic police official came and he gave a lecture about different driving rules and explained all the traffic signals from the poster.

Then they called the candidates one by one and they asked me about 7 to 8 signals from the chart installed in DSP room. Thanks God I passed the interview and I was asked to go to the ground where they ask you to drive the Car.

So I went to the ground and was happy for my performance in the interview. They asked for 30 rupees as charges for car driving test. I paid that and started waiting for my turn. There were a lot of people with reference and they were given priority on us and they drove the car and went away while we people not having any reference were standing in the queue waiting for our turn. Police guys were giving preference to their relatives and friends and were unable to do or say anything because they could fail us in the test and they were doing all this so openly. What a corrupt department the police is.

So guys as I had applied for driving license of car they asked me to drive a Centro Car. They had already prepared a route using Cone shaped objects and requirement was to drive the car on their predefined route and do not touch the cones. You are required to first drive the car in forward direction and then in reverse.

I drove the car very nervously and thank God I succeeded.

They asked me to go to the same window where I submitted my file in the morning and give them the file again along with 700 rupees worth of driving license tickets. They asked me to collect the driving license next day from civil lines traffic police office in Lahore. It was mandatory to take original CNIC and slip issued b y them to their office at civil lines.

I visited their place and got the license next day.

So guys this is how I got my license without having any Reference or relative in police department. I hope if you know driving you can get the license but you will have to stand in the long queues and wait for your turn a lot of hours.

Best of Luck if you are going to try above procedure…

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Getting Car Driving License in Lahore, Pakistan

  1. Do they take the photography again cuz my photo on learning license is veerryy bad :p

    Posted by Hamza | March 10, 2012, 5:30 am
  2. Many thanks for that, insha Allah i will apply soon.

    Posted by salah ud din | December 20, 2012, 2:19 pm

Leave a Reply

Archives

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other followers

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

